Home health tips The power of Hatha Yoga and Ashtanga Yoga

The power of Hatha Yoga and Ashtanga Yoga


Yoga is very much associated with the religious practices and beliefs of Indian religions. It is referred as a discipline of body, mind and soul. The ultimate objective of doing yoga is varied and it ranges from developing health to attaining moksha.

Hatha Yoga:

Hatha Yoga is the basis of all Yoga systems. Hatha Yoga is an inclination for higher Yogas. Practicing Hatha Yoga helps you identify your inner mental and physical potentials. This form of yoga arranges your body for spiritual approach through physical as well as breathing exercises.

The relaxation exercises of Hatha Yoga opens energy channels and allows the spiritual energy to flow freely. Some of its asanas massages your internal organs and help prevent diseases, such as arthritis, diabetes and hypertension.

Hatha yoga is some what a tiresome practice and is all about path to enlightenment. It assists to deal with stress, relieves tension, depression and anxiety. It will relax your body and bring your mind to a focused state to get it ready for meditation and eventually seek enlightenment.

Hatha yoga is the very demonstrative component of yoga that is preoccupied simply by means to the means. It prepares your body and conditions your mind for meditation without any obstacles.

Ashtanga Yoga:

Ashtanga yoga is a yoga system that involves harmonizing your breath with a continuing series of postures. It can also be referred as a process that produces strong internal heat and purifies sweat thereby detoxifying organs and muscles. The result is better circulation of blood, light and strong body along with a calm mind.

Ashtanga Yoga focuses mainly on placid postures that move the body’s energy to other organs and muscles particularly to the brain. It is strength adapted practice with extreme stretching in the majority of the poses. Hatha Yoga would be a very good practice to start with before starting Ashtanga yoga.

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is an exhausting form of yoga that promotes flexibility, strength, endurance and clarity of mind. Ashtanga yoga exactly refers to eight-limbed yoga as per the eight spiritual practices summarized by Patanjali in Yoga Sutra.

As per Patanjali, the internal purification path for enlightening the Universal Self includes eight spiritual practices, namely:

  • Yama means moral codes
  • Niyama means self-purification and study
  • Asana means posture
  • Pranayama means breath control
  • Pratyahara means sense control
  • Dharana means concentration
  • Dhyana means meditation and
  • Samadhi means absorption into the Universe

The four internal cleansing practices i.e. dharana, pratyahara, dhyana as well as Samadhi brings mind under control.

Previous articleTreatment Options for Vitiligo
Next articleHomeopathy treatment for Asthma in children